Homing – New Year 2016

New Year, A.D. 2016

  • Lections for Christmas 2: John 1:1-18, Jeremiah 31:7-14, Sirach 24:1-12

The Word became our flesh and dwelt with us,
so the cosmos was by God itself restored,
the past is healed, the future bright for us,
Jesus’ poor birth revealed, humanity awed.

With pleas for mercy I will lead them back,
says our Lord, I will make them walk by streams,
I’ll keep my people on the straightest track,
the blind, the lame, I will fill full their dreams.

Wisdom for my homing, mercy’s teacher,
comb through heaven’s reaches and the depths’ abyss,
destination of God’s every creature –
Heart of the Universe accomplish this:

Last grain, and God’s letter spaced to kern,
Made from star-dust, to stars we will return.

Ted Witham 2016

dsc01422

Stream on Mt Toolbrunup, Western Australia

Leave a comment